Page 1 of 2
Whether its me playing an acoustic or an electric.. I cant stand using picks.. not to mention I'm not that good with picks, I mean I can use them.. but using my thumb as a pick feels waaaaaaay more natural and i find it easier and more fun. I've been playing for about a year now and I still use my thumb as a pick. I find it way more natural for me. Is this a bad technique? or should I just continue the way I like to play??
There is no 'right' or 'wrong' if it works for you, just play the guitar.
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
if it works for you, then it works.

you might try using your other fingers as well and get great at fingerpicking, it all depends on what you prefer. it's not a bad technique either, there are some (quite a a lot actually) guitarists who play solely with their fingers. this guy called Mark Knopfler par example (you might have heard of him, he had some minor hits back in the day) uses mostly his fingers.

you could also try using thumbpicks or fingerpicks, maybe you would like that.

you might also find that after trying a pick for a while, you might actually prefer using them instead of your thumb (i used only my thumb as well when i first started out, until the music teacher at school insisted that i used a pick and i prefer them over fingerpicking now)

if it works for you, then you should continue playing this way, it all comes down to preference.
Using your thumb isn't bad technique, but like anything it has advantages and disadvantages. In my experience a thumb has a more mellow/softened attack than a pick. I really recommend learning to play with a pick as well, just so that you're as versatile a player as possible.
Do what feels natural.

If it doesn't cause you fatigue or pain, then it's not bad technique.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301