Hi all

I'm teaching someone bass at the moment (I'm a guitarist). He's having some trouble with rhythm independence..... When I teach him a part to a song he can play it fine on his own. But then when i play the guitar part he either loses his way completely. or he ends up changing to the rhythm of the guitar rather than holding and playing his own rhythm.

I've had a look for lessons on line which help with this problem but have not found any. That could be because I'm putting in the wrong words; it's one of those things that's heard to put a good search together for.

So it's over to you guys to see if you can help and whether you have or know of any exercises to help with this.....

Many thanks

Max
Is he inconsistent with rhythm, or he just chooses a too fast/slow pace? Is it only when you start playing too? If he is speeding up and slowing down, try having him tap his foot as he plays. I found that this helped me when practicing different time signatures.

If it's only when you're playing too, you try tapping your foot or nodding your head along with the rhythm so he has something to follow other than your playing.
It's more a case of him changing is rhythm.

So for example, we have been doing La Grange by ZZ Top:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vppbdf-qtGU

He can play it fine on his own. But if we play it together he sometimes changes his bass line to the same rhythm as the guitar part rather than keeping the rhythm of the bass part going.....

Hope that makes sense!

Cheers
Well, have him practice that part a bunch, then explain it to him or her. Record yourselves playing the song, then have the bass player listen to it.
have him play along to the records/songs he's learning. it's just something you need to learn through practice that lots of beginners have with any instrument.
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.