Right, so I've been learning guitar for 12 years now and the stumbling block that has hit me hard is remembering the different pentaonic scales all over the neck for soloing. The root 6 scale and root 5 scales I'm good with, and when I sit down and physically think about them I can do them but when in the moment of soloing I just completely forget once I'm out of the root 6 position what the fingering pattern is and it's driving me a bit bonkers. Any help? I know it is just a matter of practice and patience, but it's annoying.
Forget about the shapes. Instead, learn the notes of the fretboard and learn the scales as a series of notes and intervals. Then, anywhere that you find the notes of the scale, you can play that scale.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Quote by Junior#1
Forget about the shapes. Instead, learn the notes of the fretboard and learn the scales as a series of notes and intervals. Then, anywhere that you find the notes of the scale, you can play that scale.

Actually I don't think that's the issue this time.

Quote by ellen82
Right, so I've been learning guitar for 12 years now and the stumbling block that has hit me hard is remembering the different pentaonic scales all over the neck for soloing. The root 6 scale and root 5 scales I'm good with, and when I sit down and physically think about them I can do them but when in the moment of soloing I just completely forget once I'm out of the root 6 position what the fingering pattern is and it's driving me a bit bonkers. Any help? I know it is just a matter of practice and patience, but it's annoying.