Pretty much as the title says, what are the main differences between a Marshall 1960a and an orange pccb412(aside price and the speakers, obviously)
What tonal qualities will I get with each, is the price difference justifiable etc.
thanks guys, I'm a bit of a newbie to anything other than small valve practice combos!
I like all types of music, from slipknot to jazz.(helpful, I know)
Cheers
The Orange cabs are built FAR better than the 1960 series cabs. Beefier construction, better wiring/electrical compnents, and generally speaking, will typically come with more desirable speakers stock. Speakers are more of a subjective thing, but the better build quality of an Orange is hard to argue against. To my ears, the result is a more full sound overall, speakers aside.

I used to own a 1960A, but recently switched over to an Avatar Contemporary 4x12 (Somewhat of a "poor man's" Orange cab knock-off), and am very happy with it. The nice thing about 1960A's is that they're a dime a dozen on the used market, so if you need a decent cab on the cheap, they're a viable option in that regard (And some amps do sound awesome through them, don't get me wrong). If buying new though, I'd go straight for the Orange. You'll be happier in the long run.
- Gibson Flying V 120 #1 (White)
- Gibson Flying V 120 #2 (Cherry)
- Gibson SG Standard ('61 style)
- Jackson DK2M

- ENGL Fireball 60

- Many pedals, plus other stuff
do you guys think the price difference is justified?(I'm 15, but not a cheapskate. if something's worth saving up for I will get it- I got a les paul standard because it was worth it to my ears)
Quote by TJWhonley
do you guys think the price difference is justified?(I'm 15, but not a cheapskate. if something's worth saving up for I will get it- I got a les paul standard because it was worth it to my ears)

Where do you live? Going used can save you 1/2 or more on the price of cabs
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100