Hey guys, I'm going to school for engineering and I am at the point where i need to decide which field I want to specialize in.

At first I thought mechanical would be for me because i liked all the courses it contained. However, the idea of making microphones/ amps/ pedals/ synths/ vst's/ guitar wirings and pickups also seems awesome! I don't like the classes in electrical as much, but i find nothing would be more satisfying than having a job where i work on audio equipment and for a company like shure, alesis, akg, korg, etc

That being said, do any of you guys know what the job market is like for these audio companies when it comes to hiring engineers? Is it really hard and competitive to get into the field?

Thanks for your help!
I am a Master student in acoustics that did his bachelor degree in Mechanical engineering. I study sound field reproduction, as it is the nearest I can get with my academic formation to a job in audio engineering. (In north america, there is not a recognized audio engineer/acoustician title)

As I progress in my research topic, I find out more and more students that want jobs just like you... and they are all amateur musicians with an electrical or info degree. "Mechanical" guys often work on modeling systems, enclosures, sound waves propagation, manufacturing, cost efficiency for mass production, etc. With my current knowledge, I cannot compete with these guys for these kind of jobs you are talking about. Sure, I have the motivation and capacity to learn the stuff I need in electrical design and computer stuff, but it would need a massive investment of time that I don't have.

If I could come back 5 years in the past, I would have chosen an electrical degree, not a mechanical, even if at that point dynamics and structural design was also an interest of mine.