Hello Everyone,

I have been playing guitar for two years now and I must say I am quite tired of playing other peoples songs. Every time I pick up the guitar I either play songs that I already know or I learn new songs. I would like to be able to pick up the guitar and create music instead of just vomiting other peoples work back up haha. So can anyone offer some things that I should focus on learning? I would like to play blues-rock efficiently and be able to improvise and write my own songs. I really like players like Clapton and Mayer who are great guitarists, but can also write really good songs, but first things first I need to learn more and become a good player. So what are the things that a blues-rock player should know (arpeggios, scales, etc.)? And I'm all for learning theory too so what should I learn regarding that?

Thank you
Quote by Chorstman
Hello Everyone,

I have been playing guitar for two years now and I must say I am quite tired of playing other peoples songs. Every time I pick up the guitar I either play songs that I already know or I learn new songs. I would like to be able to pick up the guitar and create music instead of just vomiting other peoples work back up haha. So can anyone offer some things that I should focus on learning? I would like to play blues-rock efficiently and be able to improvise and write my own songs. I really like players like Clapton and Mayer who are great guitarists, but can also write really good songs, but first things first I need to learn more and become a good player. So what are the things that a blues-rock player should know (arpeggios, scales, etc.)? And I'm all for learning theory too so what should I learn regarding that?

Thank you