Hey guys. I have some lugs on a drumset that I am currently working on. They're chrome, any ideas on how to remove the chrome and give them a gold or bass finish? I feel that if this is possible it would be much cheaper
My dad is an engineer and one time a while back he explained to me how electroplating works. I'm not an engineer so it was hard to follow what he said, but in a nutshell, they take the metal, put it into this really wonky looking machine that has some form of chemical liquid in it (as well as the "gold" finish, or black finish, or whatever) The machine then sends electricity through the liquid, causing the finish to separate from the chemical and attach itself to the piece of metal. IE, your lugs, or a guitar bridge, etc. He also told me that the plating is about as thin as a piece of paper, which is why old guitars will have the finish rubbed off. It's so thin because if it was any thicker, then it would add width to things like tension rods which would then be to large to screw into the lugs, and of course it would cost more.

I have absolutely no idea how you would do that on your own. I don't think it'd be possible without very specific and probably expensive equipment. If someone does know a way I'd love to hear it. Of course, since they're just lugs and not tension rods, you could probably get away with painting them. I used to be in the vinyl business and we could wrap vinyl around pretty much anything if we used a heat gun (like cars, for example) You could always try that. Best of luck dude!
All you need to electroplate is a battery, vinegar, some gold, and some wire.
REAL fancy equipment there.
http://www.ehow.com/how_8074590_electroplate-home.html

Electroplating is piss easy to do.

Also
http://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Chrome-Plating
Last edited by darkwolf291 at May 31, 2013,
Quote by darkwolf291
All you need to electroplate is a battery, vinegar, some gold, and some wire.
REAL fancy equipment there.