Hi,

I'll keep this brief. When I play hard my strings buzz.

I have been playing for 6 years and have never noticed this problem before, and no teachers or any one else have ever mentioned it to me. But that does not mean it is not my technique.

This buzz does not actually seem to sound through an amp. That probably makes you think it is ok. But I have been doing a lot of record with a DI and the DI is picking it up. Add an amp sim and the results are horrible. It could be that recording has shown me a technique bad habbit that I had previously not noticed.

I cannot see any obvious setup issues. My action is not even low, I like it higher than most people.

I know you can only guess but do you have any ideas?

and do you have any ideas of some tests I could do to find out?

Thanks in advanced.
How hard do you play? If you play hard enough on any guitar, you're going to get some string buzz - the strings are vibrating hard enough that they're hitting the frets. Not much you can do about that, except play softer, or have the guitar's set up looked at. Maybe the action an be raised a little, without affecting the playability of the guitar.
The strings can buzz (and also de-tune every once a while) if they're not "locked" to the tuners. I know this cause I had that problem for a long time with my D string. Once I paid enough attention to locking the string, it went away.

KG6_Steven is also spot on.

And is it on every single string? Just noticed your guitar, is it the FR model? If it is, it could even be a bridge angle issue (I know this because I had a cheap guitar with a FR on it).
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.