Hey guys,
I'm a self-taught guitar player and have been playing for three and a half years now.
I always wanted to write own songs but just had no ideas or was told by a friend of mine, who is studying music, that those chords, I put together can't be used due to theoretical stuff...
Now my question:
Can I be as good as a guitar player, who knows all the musical theory or has been taught by a teacher even though I sometimes have a musical ear and can hear stuff, that friends of mine don't even recognize or find it out myself just by ear?
Do I NEED, to know all the scales, to write own stuff or to know, which chords I can use in a row etc.?

Thanks for your answers guys!
theory is just an amalgamation of observations procured by analyzing (academically or practically) music that has been created.

a fundamental understanding of theory will take you very far in understanding what you're already playing, but by, over time, learning and performing music (particularly by ear, and more particularly by charting the music yourself), you will grow to understand and appreciate harmony/melody/form to a point where you can both derive and manipulate inspiration and create the product that you want to create.

your friend sounds like he's full of shit and just learned diatonicism from his first week in big boy theory
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Quote by FabulousIan
Hey guys,
I'm a self-taught guitar player and have been playing for three and a half years now.
I always wanted to write own songs but just had no ideas or was told by a friend of mine, who is studying music, that those chords, I put together can't be used due to
Here's the issue, if the "chords you put together" sound good to people other than yourself, then "violating the absolute laws of musical theory", is less than a summary offense.