So I'm a Bass amateur having played on my friends ESP and another's Fender P and having played guitar for 10 years, I essentially want to play Bass because its better. After plenty of research and suggestions from my previous thread and plenty of playing around I've narrowed down my choices... I like versatility and I want to be open to as many musical genres. I want something I can learn quick on for gigging and that's gonna' last. Aesthetics, colour don't bother me either. Heres my choices that I felt comfortable with, let me know what you think or you would suggest - Cheers!

Yamaha RBX4-A2
Hagstrom Viking
Hagstrom FXB-200
Warwick Corvette
Squier / Fender Jaguar
Fender Standard P
With all of them it was the same really - I could apply what I already know to different genres so versatility, I liked all the sounds equally, its just hard to decide, whenever Ive played guitar all the bassists have Fenders / Squiers so I cant really get a good opinion out of them haha, so Im curious what others think / recommend to sway my decision, thanks!

Note: I mostly play Indie and Blues / Rock, but Ive jammed with a metal group and asked to help with some folk stuff - so you can see why I want versatility haha!
I've got a Yamaha that I got used a couple years ago. Plays well and I couldn't be happier with it. Having said that:

Quote by jumpaside
Never go wrong with a fender p-bass
Squier is decent enough, but it won't do in the long run. Get good gear right away.

EDIT: Almost forgot. I also have a Yamaha RBX, though it's a five string. If you do want the price to stay low, I would recommend the Yamaha. They play very well, and deal with damages well.

And they look sexy.

(I say this having no knowledge of the other basses you mentioned, of course.)
Last edited by Oyface at Jun 4, 2013,