I'm considering making some bodies to sell that would be compatible with Warmoth Necks. I'm a cabinet maker by trade and work with wood as accurate as 1/1000". I haven't built a guitar before however its something I'd love to go to school for and I know I could do.

For the time being, I can make some bodies for fairly cheap, the only true cost would be my time. What I'm asking you guys for is some input on things like wood, body shape, finish. I would not be making necks but if I successfully build a body I will purchase a Warmoth neck to get the guitar put together and playable before I consider doing it as a side job.

So, I'm going to bed now, looking for some real input so I can start planning for this! No absurd requests. Likely I'll do something along the lines of a mahogany soloist body with a figured carved top to keep it simple, but I'd like to hear suggestions. Maybe you can peak my interest.

As it would be my first guitar built from scratch I'm definitely expecting this to turn out somewhat shitty but I'm ready to go at it full bore. Thanks guys! When I do start the project, I will be providing a project log so you guys can see the progress.
Well, the first thing you need to realize about making only bodies, is that there is already an endless supply of them. You can get them extremely cheap, in pretty much every shape on ebay.
The only real way to even make a profit is to either do custom work, or do make what isnt already easily available.

Its possible if you use really great woods. But in my opinion, a basic strat style body isnt going to sell. There are just too many of them out there.