Hey there, so I started learning this song earlier today and I've got about halfway. It's by far the fastest solo I've played and I was wondering if this counts as shredding or is it just a quick solo. Also, is there a name for the technique that they use in most of the solo.

E|----10-14p10----10-14p10-----|
B|-12-------------12-----------12--|

Don't know how to post tabs properly, sorry if it doesn't come out as expected.
I thought something similar but I remember reading somewhere here that sweep picking is 3 or more strings.
Quote by zamap708
I thought something similar but I remember reading somewhere here that sweep picking is 3 or more strings.

Sweeping can be anything from 2 strings to as many strings you got on your instrument.

Also, i would hardly label "The Final Countdown" solo as "shred".
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
You could sweep that but it sounds better with alternate picking and pull-offs because of articulation. Sweeping would mean always hitting the b string with a downstroke, thats not what Norum did for a good reason.
Yeah, I also play it using alternative picking. It sounds better than downstrokes on the whole thing.
That's a B minor arpeggio. Next comes C# diminished arpeggio, D Major arpeggio and then G Major arpeggio. The solo is in the key of B minor so it uses mostly B C# D E F# G and A notes.
Last edited by AndyZ at Jun 8, 2013,
Quote by AndyZ
That's just a B minor arpeggio. Next comes C# diminished arpeggio, D Major arpeggio and then G Major arpeggio. The solo is in the key of B minor so it uses mostly B C# D E F# G and A notes.

So?
Quote by Facecut
So?