assuming they play a different instrument that you.
even if you don't play them or know how to, at least not yet. do you learn about their instrument and other equipment they use for that instrument?
I'd say that it's great for a person to have an understanding of the capabilities and extremities of an instrument and, perhaps more importantly, the skill of the person wielding it. For example, I have tried drums and decided I don't have the four-limb co-ordination, but I know how the instrument works so I can compose stuff for it and I have a basic knowledge of varieties of symbols and drums and whatnot. As a BA composition student, I'd say yes it's important to gain as much understanding about other instruments as possible even if you don't play them. It broadens your pallet and allows for that kind of technical conversation with other instrumentalists which can lead to some really cool ideas when bouncing riffs and stuff around.
Agreeing 110% with UnmagicMushroom.

Getting to know other instruments, even if you don't necessary play them, is a really good thing! Especially if, as said, you are very into writing stuff.

I am no drummer, but i understand how they work and what you are able and not able to do on the drums. So i can write full songs very easily by myself (since i already play guitar, bass and keyboard) and then send parts around to people i'd like to play/record with me.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
the trade-off is typically that, if they're any good, they'll tell you all about it whether you want to hear it or not
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.