ok so since i started about a year ago i believe it was in july or august wasnt long before i joined UG i have been practicing almost religiously and the sessions last a while and i have fallen victim to gross mistakes and noodling. although about a month ago i start seriously practicing timing myself using a metronome, im a noob BPM chaser, and i had some progress but nothing substantial. after a 3 day break and some new string aerobics to do i have gained 50 bpm cleanly and my picking hand feels 10x more relaxed at higher speeds, i practice tremolo picking just to help raw picking speed.

Now to the point, can you over train yourself playing guitar like you can your muscle in the gym and get to a plateau?
Quote by sw4l

Now to the point, can you over train yourself playing guitar like you can your muscle in the gym and get to a plateau?

NO!
NOW GO PRACTICE!!

You should however not practice the same things hours on end.
You shouldn't really practice anything for more than 30 min at a time - and even that is stretching it, I believe.
Personally I'd say 10-15 min and then move on to something different for that practice session.
It takes a lot of time to build muscle memory, and if you do the same thing for too long, you'll start getting sloppy, and then that is what the muscle memory will get ingrained.
There is a lot more to add to this obviously, but that should help a little I hope.

NOW GO PRACTICE!
Things with strings:
Ibanez J.Custom, Prestiges, RG8, SR5 bass etc
LP's, Strat, Tele
Noiseboxes:
ENGL Retro Tube 50
5150 III 50W
Orange Terror Bass
Quote by Shor
NO!
NOW GO PRACTICE!!

You should however not practice the same things hours on end.
You shouldn't really practice anything for more than 30 min at a time - and even that is stretching it, I believe.
Personally I'd say 10-15 min and then move on to something different for that practice session.