I really hope the people here can help me, because I've been trying to pick for weeks and just been so overwhelmed.
Basically I'm looking for a versatile electric guitar within my budget of approx. 700 EUR (1000$, £600), might be able to stretch a (tiny) bit. I've been playing for about 7 years but I honestly don't know much about whether a guitar is a good one or not (aside from the obvious).

I play mostly rock music, but the style varies greatly, from Creedence to Muse, to AC/DC to Ska-punk like Zebrahead, to Kaiser Chiefs to The Eagles... you get the idea. Also, I'd be playing both rhythm and lead on it.

I was originally looking at these two gutars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded
Brian May Signature

I'm a little worried that both of these are primarily lead-guitars. A friend told me that the chord work on them tend to be on the fat, fuller sounding side.

However, if anyone can suggest a guitar that they'd think would suit my needs, I'd be very grateful to hear it!

Cheers,
Danny.

P.S. It can't hurt for it to look good either!
Les pauls have great rhythm tones. Do the Brain Mays have the switching options like his original? If so, I couldn't believe it wouldn't work for that.
I've actually heard less than great things about newer Gibsons. Maybe check out a nice used one for that budget. You may be able to find one a little better than a studio faded for the same price.
Quote by Bassface7
Go for the Les Paul. You can't go wrong with a new Gibson.

- Nick

Thanks for your suggestion.

Quote by ryanbwags
Les pauls have great rhythm tones. Do the Brain Mays have the switching options like his original? If so, I couldn't believe it wouldn't work for that.
I've actually heard less than great things about newer Gibsons. Maybe check out a nice used one for that budget. You may be able to find one a little better than a studio faded for the same price.

Yeah, it has switches to turn each of the three pickups on and off, and a phase switch for each one.