I hate it absolutely hate it. Especially when it doesn't show up until you're already playing a gig.
We had a gig tonight in a new town. Everything was decent until the second repetition of the first riff of the opening song. I just did not feel right, nor comfortable. I was having difficulty picking properly for our music(copious amounts of tremolo picking). The the leg shaking started. I could not find a comfortable standing position to where I could get into the music. This led to botched usage of my wah for leads as I felt I was about to fall down. I want to think I purely sucked tonight. I figured anxiety would have worked itself out after 20+ gigs with this band and over 500 since I started playing in bands. Tonight it hit me hard.

I always play live sober. I was well hydrated, warmed up, and stretched before hand.

Does this happen to anyone ever?
Two things, the most successful actors have been interviewed about stage fright, and they pretty much categorically state that you never "outgrow" it. Particularly in venues such a a Broadway play, where you have no choice but to deal with a a live audience.

They also talk of performers that put an old hat or trashcan at the stage entrance, so they could vomit from the fear before hitting the stage.

OTOH, the almost half-ass fainting shit sounds like it could be low blood sugar. I expect that if you don't have enough carbs on board and already burning when you hit the stage, the stress could trigger an attack.

(Wild guess, don't listen to me, I'm not a doctor, just a humble layman who plays guitar poorly and doesn't have to worry about stage fright. Get at least a half dozen "second opinions", preferably from someone in the medical profession).
Last edited by Captaincranky at Jun 16, 2013,
You're not alone. I face the exact same problem.

I believe that conquering this problem has a lot to do with changing our mental/spiritual beliefs.