(Oh...)

Verse 5:
Master of mine, guide me now
I want to know my destiny
Mysterious Master, surround -- holy and wise eternally
Surrender my will, take up freedom
Command me now, here and evermore
Last edited by crazysam23_Atax at Oct 17, 2013,
I'm not very good at critiquing straight up lyrics like this, but i'll give it a go.

I really like that first verse, great subtle rhyming and the wording is interesting.

The other verses progress well, leading cautiously to that dark conclusion (which I like) but maybe you could have foreshadowed it earlier on or something, just to build suspense. On that subject i don't feel that this needs another verse, it might make it too drawn out, you could consider squeezing the ideas you have into the other verses, or add to the chorus.

I must confess, however, I am not a fan of the chorus as it is lacking a definite hook and doesn't add anything really. I also think this reads well without a chorus, but that might not work in the context of a song.

Overall this piece has potential (that first verse really is great) but I think it just needs refining in a couple of places.
Quote by doubtfulsalmon
I'm not very good at critiquing straight up lyrics like this, but i'll give it a go.

I really like that first verse, great subtle rhyming and the wording is interesting.

The other verses progress well, leading cautiously to that dark conclusion (which I like) but maybe you could have foreshadowed it earlier on or something, just to build suspense. On that subject i don't feel that this needs another verse, it might make it too drawn out, you could consider squeezing the ideas you have into the other verses, or add to the chorus.

I must confess, however, I am not a fan of the chorus as it is lacking a definite hook and doesn't add anything really. I also think this reads well without a chorus, but that might not work in the context of a song.