hey there, just bought a Peavey JSX 212 combo, and so far I've encountered 2 problems:
1. inside the cabinet, right beneath the fuse, there is a black box-like object (not sure what it's actually called sorry!) and when I play with the bass up past about 6, and at higher volumes, it vibrates and creates this annoying sound. Is there anyway to fix this?

2. The amp has a hum on all three channels even if the master volume is completely turned off. Is this maybe a tube problem? I'm sorry if these are terrible descriptions, or if this is a simple fix, this is my first tube amp. I'm a newbie when it comes to this.

Any help would be very appreciated!

Thanks
Does that amp have reverb? Sounds like a reverb tank.

Pics are really really helpful, you should get some up.

Could be tubes, could be bad power in your house. Do you have a power conditioner? Normally to lower noise floor we recommend a JJ ECC803 in the V1 position, but it's not a great idea in a combo amp. Since the speaker is so close to the chassis, vibrations can cause the ECC803 to go microphonic prematurely.

If you don't have JJs in the amp, get a few and replace all your 12AX7s with them as a start.

Then look into getting a power conditioner.

Oh, also first try the amp in different outlets in your house first. If there are too many things drawing current on one breaker, that can be the cause of subpar power conditions.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
I'll try and get some pics up tomorrow. And now that you mention it, it just might be the outlet. It's been plugged into a powerbar with a couple other amps, so I'll try it elsewhere. If that doesn't work I'll look into the other things you mentioned.

Thanks for the response, really appreciate the help!