Ive been playing for about 5 years. I cant say how serious I was the first couple years. I just wanted to learn a cover or two. I've noticed that im getting better the more I play, but its such a sloooow increase that it hardly exists. Lately ive been looking into music theory, and its just harder than it looks. I know all the basic chords, blues scale, minor pentatonic scale, and the major pentatonic scale. What ive read online when it comes to improving on scales, mostly you just play the scale but as different rhythm's and licks. Ehh simple enough I guess, I manage doing this...sorta. I've had many friends who play guitar a few months, or a couple years...but they end up giving in. "Im just not a guitarist, im nothing like Hendrix, or Kerry King". So I normally reply "Practice, more! It takes time to get that good!". But now, its me whos feeling like giving up. I went on youtube just searching random guitar videos. Its not the guys who've been playing 20 years and can do amazing stuff that de-motivates me. Or even the 14yr old girl thats been "professionally trained" for 6 years. Its the guy whos doing an insane crazy solo that makes Buckethead look like a bitch, when this guy has only been playing for 3 years. Talking in the video information with alot of music theory terminology, and playing behind a backing track and whatnot. I know to some of you this may not sound like a big deal, but ive played so much more than this guy im sure of, yet he can shred a million notes a second all over the fretboard.

How do you guys not just react to people whos way better than you but have only played a year or two? How do you suggest learning the important stuff to someone with a hard time learning music? HOW DO YOU STAY MOTIVATED?