I recently bought a MIM fat strat and I love it except I would like to have a more beefy, almost sludgey tone similar to mastodon and melvins where you almost feel every palm mute. I undersand that a strat is not the best guitar for this but I like playing regular, old strats the most of any type of guitar. I'm running my guitar through a vypyr 30 which I wont be able to upgrade for a while so please don't suggest buying a new amp. Anyway, I would like recommendations on the best humbucker to achieve this sort of tone as well as any other tips to get this tone. Thanks.
1. Strap on some overalls
2. Arpeggio Seriousness
3. Lock Horns
4. Take a big fresh breath of air
5. Go Surfin'
6. Get high on fire
You might like the Lace Dirty Hesher- Matt Pike's "signature" pickup or their new Finger Burners.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Dimarzio Breed would do the job nicely although I'm not sure how much of an difference it'll make with the Vypyr.

I know it's not what you want to hear but the amp is most likely why you're not getting the sound you want. A pickup won't make any difference as "feeling every palm mute" goes, that's all down to volume and speakers. You need enough volume to get the air moving, and more speakers will move more air...a2x12 will get you there, a 4x12 is even better.

If you're just running your amp at practice volumes there's no point wasting money on a pickup because no, it won't change anything. Use more volume and less gain on your amp and make sure there's a healthy dose of mids in your tone but you may well be starting to become aware of the limitations of the amp. I'm pretty sure if you plugged your guitar into a cranked Mesa or ENGL you wouldn't think there was anything wrong with the pickups.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62