Hello people,

I'm going to try to give you as much information as I can, as I have no experience in this field. (If sending pictures of the guitar is relevant to solving my problems, I can do that on request ).
I apologise in advance for all the text, I tried to structure it all to make it more clear.

Background:

I've found an old guitar (in the attic, so to speak) for children, it's about 10 years old at LEAST by what I remember, the brand is "Skylark guitars" and it's pretty small (shorter than my leg, as it's a guitar for children) but it's "playable" I guess.
Now the sound on this kind of children guitars, afaik, isn't good because it's meant to make them interested in music, it's not an instrument they'll keep playing forever, I guess it's about 30 euros max to buy one of those.
Now that I reassured you that the sound is already sub-par, this is my plan (as what I'm trying to do is apparantly frowned upon as it messes with the sound ) :

A project I'd like to do this summer is customising this guitar the way people use Sharpies to draw on their guitars and to use that guitar to either decorate my room or MAYBE to use it as a traveling guitar when I go to music festivals or to other gatherings, or holiday trips with friends etc. ( because I'd rather die than to bring one of my "real" guitars, so to speak, as things can get damaged pretty fast in those environments)

The procedure:

Now I've already planned out to sand the coating off with sandpaper by hand.
(1) Even though the sound is sub-par, i'd still like it to be like that after the procedure, not completely messed up. Does that mean I should refrain from doing anything to the neck+head of the guitar ?

Once the outside is sanded down to the wood, I will draw and color a design over the whole guitar after I removed the strings.