I had my Ibanez ew20asent's headstock repaired and also setup 2 weeks ago. I had the tech guy install custom light strings (.011-.052) and asked to make it fingerstyle-friendly. The guitar plays unforgivingly. By that I mean that unless I play with perfect finger position and with uncomfortably firm pressure, it tends to fuzz. That may sound funny but it just feels like a chore to play the guitar in order to prevent it from fuzzing on me. I don't expect it to play as friendly as my electric or nylon guitars but I can't shake the feeling that it needs an adjustment. I've been playing for about 5 years so maybe it's my newb ignorance. Let me know what you think.

Here's a youtube vid I took showing the string height along the neck:

youtube.com/watch?v=AFSBH-5BSeM
I have one of those damned things, and the issue you speak to is because, (IMHO), the frets are too shallow. You have to catch the string directly behind the fret to do the most good.

I would suggest that perhaps you don't have as much callous developed as you could or should, and that is likely exacerbating the problem.

It is also possible the difference in fretting effort between your nylon strung, electric, and this flat top steel string, is farther apart than you anticipated.

If there's a music store nearby, go in and strum a couple of like sized guitars in a different brand, she what conclusion you can draw. Most makers ship with .012 to .053 acoustic light strings, so they'll be a bigger load than what you have on the Ibby.

I have an Ibanez AEL10 as well, and I think it's a tad easier to play than the EW.

In truth, it's not a particularly easy guitar to play. Jumbo bodies feed a lot of energy back into the strings, the frets are shallow and it is a long scale guitar also.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Jun 23, 2013,