Page 1 of 3
I need some advice.

For the sake of simplicity, I'll just get down to what is stopping me from doing what I need to do, and spare you the explanation of who, what, when, where and why, as my story is very long and complicated.

I've had MD for a very long time now. I've seen a lot of therapists over the years, and it seems to help, but I tend to slip back into the old habits eventually, and now its become a very real danger to my well being and my quality of life. I want to tell my parents that I wish to go back into therapy and rehabilitate my psyche again, but I don't know how to talk to my parents about it because I'm afraid of them judging me for it.

Q: But wait, didn't I just say that I have been in therapy before? (I did have to tell my parents I had to go, as I was referred by my doctor) What's stopping me from telling them again?

A: The problem is the stigma attached to not having a job, which I didn't have when I was a full-time student. I'm currently seeking for a job (using a good CV of course) and I haven't heard a peep from anyone. The depression is not being caused by not having a job. However my parents constantly complain that nobody is interested in hiring me yet.

I don't want them to think that the cause of my depression is due to not having a job yet, and therefore getting one will fix everything. It won't. But I also want to avoid telling them the actual cause of the depression, because part of the problem is due to the parents themselves.

tl;dr:
Want to tell parents to go back into therapy. Worried that because I'm still job-seeking, the fact I don't have a job yet is the cause of the depression, which it isn't. How do I tell them that I need therapy without them judging me for being unemployed?

Cookies go towards users who post something helpful.
Thanks.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Last edited by T00DEEPBLUE at Jun 25, 2013,
Tell them they're dicks if they don't help. You'll still love them, but they're dicks.