I’m looking to buy a new electric guitar; I’ve been playing for about 10 years casually. I am by no means amazing and definitely not a “shredder” but I'm not horrible either. I only own one electric, a Silverstone that I bought at the store Media Play . My budget is $400.00. I like to play music similar to Mastodon, Baroness, Against Me, Yeah Yeah Yeahs just to name a few, but play kind of sludge metal but also a country/bluegrass type thing. I’d like it to sound good while doing some clean stuff and some bassy stuff, so if there were pickups that would work better that you could recommend I’d appreciate it. I was looking at the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain Top and the Ibanez ART100. Not expensive and I do like the body. Any other suggestions? Thanks for your help!
What amp are you playing through? More often than not the biggest upgrade to your tone will be through a new amp
I'm just using one of those First Act amps from Wal-Mart. Like I said, I'm just a casual player but I've started getting back into playing. I've never had the money to buy new things. What's an amp you would suggest?
^This. You can pick up a used tube version for around the 300 mark.

I have the 60w tube version myself (this is my first amp so please know that I won't have the ears of a more experienced player) the built in effects/amp modeling sound okay to good, but the sheer number of them means you won't have a compelling reason to drop a bunch of cash on pedals for a while. Awesome value for money.