Hey, guys. I recently started playing and bought a Fender Squire for my first guitar. I didn't want to buy an expensive model if my guitar curiosity turned out to be a phase. But it turns out that I've got some talent for this.

That being said, my guitar does something weird. I tune all the strings perfectly and some chords sound fine, but when I play an open string D, the B string sounds awful. I thought it was the intonation, so I took it to a tech, got it restrung and set up.

It still does it. I might be able to upload a small clip on youtube to better explain, but the best way I can explain it is that it simply does not sound like it's working with the other strings in the chord. I want to say it sounds flat, but I'm not sure if that's the correct term. I was playing a friend's Martin this weekend and D sounds SO much better on his guitar.

It's not just the open D that it affects, it's just the most obvious. With a good ear, playing something like Stairway makes it audibly noticeable.

Any idea what might be causing this? The tech said the neck was fine and didn't mention any issues.
Last edited by Skw1sg44r at Jun 27, 2013,
What model is it?

Flat is when it is below the correct pitch. Sharp is above. So is it flat or not when you use the tuner?

Strats have a unique tone to it, especially on the D and B, when you notice it it can be difficult to unhear if you dislike it. But it may be a nut issue. If you hear a ringing, or distorted note open but not played it's normally the nut.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.

Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.

How close are the pickups to the strings? If they are too close you can have issues with the magnetic pull affecting the string ringing out properly. You can try lowering them deeper into the body to test.
Quote by 4FunandProphet