Hello, this may sound pretty pathetic to most but I've had a guitar for over 6 years and have really not learned how to play well at all. Self taught on everything that I do know at this point. I am into playing more metalcore, "scream", and stuff like that for example Parkway Drive, We butter the bread with butter, ect... I would really love to advance in my guitar skills. I can only play a handful of songs enough to list on here:

Jars - Chevelle
The red - Chevelle
Send the pain below - Chevelle
Here's to the past - A day to remember
Hansel Und Gretel - WBTBWB
Mario theme song
Green hill zone - Sonic the hedgehog 2

These are basically it. I know I could do much more and would love to but I'm not sure where to start (again) I just don't like to start with simple songs for some reason. If you all think I should go back to the basics it would probably be for the best on my part. Just any direction from here would be good just as long as it would help me learn more.

The skills I do currently have:

- Alternate picking (I can do it for about 5 seconds then screw up)
- Timing (I recently started playing drums which I'm pretty good at so far and my timing is good on both. Pretty much spot on)
- tremelo (barely at all)
- knowledge of the frets / scales (4/10 if that)
- I can read tabs very well

Any help at all would be appreciated.

-Donald8274
Quote by Vantage
You should try improvisation and increase your fretboard knowledge. Basic theory won't hurt as well. If you can read tabs well now, you should also learn how to read sheet music!