Hi folks, my name's Dan and I just joined these forums, although I've been around on this site for a while checking out chords for songs to play on my piano. I'm thinking of getting an electrical guitar and see if you guys could give me some advice.

Some background: I'm a piano player (self-taught, 6 years of playing) and thus have knowledge about notes/chords etc. Over the last few months I've been messing around on an old acoustic guitar, hurting my fingers playing some open chords, barre chords (ehh they suck) and practicing strumming and notes with my right hand. I'm a natural lefty, but since I've been playing on this right-handed acoustic I probably will keep it that way (is this alright?).

I've been to the music store to play on electrics and just fell in love with the sound. I played on a strat (cannot remember exactl which) and a cabronita tele, loved the last one in particular. My guitar playing friend recommends me a telecaster, although he says the cabronita is a rather special case. I would like to play blues and country on it.

Is this guitar alright for a beginner? Are there any other specific guitars I should give a try? And most importantly, what are the things I should look at/consider when selecting a guitar?

Thanks for reading and feedback in advance,
Dan
If you're new to guitar its hard to give advice like this. I'm sure you realize that most guitar players have very different opinions on what makes a guitar good. Strats and teles are some of the first electric guitars so I think its an safe bet. For blues and such you'll want single coils pickups I'd imagine, and both strats and teles have that. I've heard strats are more comfortable to play but I've always liked the look of a tele better. Personally I think the best range of sounds come from a guitar with both a humbucker and a singlecoil. They do make strats and teles like this too. But you know if you're new and all it might be OK to grab a lefty guitar you might end up liking it better.