Page 1 of 2
Hey so at a band practice once I was told by one of my band members that I should

"Play simpler because the audience gets overwhelmed by more complex music."

I do like math rock so Im sure thats why he said that.

At the time I was slightly put off so I just agreed with him and said thats just like Blink 182 (A band I know he docent like, but I do) because there songs are very simple and lots of people like them. So I started playing to the band a bit more.

On reflection though I think thats really ****ed up.

Im trying to make good music and I don't care who likes it, not trying to make music so that people will like it when we play to drunk douchebags in lame ass rock clubs.

Thats just like doing what everyone els is doing and your not going to move music forward with that mentality. It kinda pisses me off that Im in a band with someone who thinks like that. Not willing to take "risks" in art. I feel like I'm just wasting my time now.

Now every time that band member has an idea Im always weary of where his inspiration is coming from.

What do you guys think of this?
Do you think I should do something about this member?
Do you think making songs for the audience is okay or not?
Who are you playing for?
Last edited by bahburah at Jul 1, 2013,
yes and no, if you really like the way something sounds and it happens to be complicated, then you should keep it how it is case you like it. but at the same time, you shouldn't make music complicated just for the sake of it being complex. nobody really cares if you just did an 8 string sweep tap with your tongue while texting at the same time. if it sounds like sh*t, it sounds like sh*t haha