Hi,

I'm a beginner at electric guitar and recently purchased a Epiphone Vintage G400 Worn Cherry Electric Guitar.

Been playing it for a couple of days and my fingers are killing me, and I expected as much.

Anyway, I'm having a bit of trouble pressing down the strings (particularly at the first couple of frets, e and B).

I'm not sure if this is due to the pain, lack of finger strength or because I'm playing with strings that are a too high gauge (using 10-46 I believe).

Would it be best to go down to 9-42 or stick it out with what I currently have?
9-42s should be a bit easier on your fingers, yeah. though it'll still hurt a bit at the start.

the trick is doing it enough to start the callouses building up, but not so much that you actually get blisters etc. (which hurt like mad and take time to heal).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
I say stick to your current string gauges, I've played on 56-13s pretty much ever since I first changed my strings :p never found a problem with blisters though.
I think generally you'll find it hurts at the start no matter what strings you use, and you just gotta sit through that period till your fingers are accustomed to it.

Tl;Dr man up, 46s are pretty light strings (to me at least) :p