Hi, I've been playing guitar for like 6 years but never felt like trying to write something till I went to warped yesterday and realized im considerably better than the guitarists in all the bands i saw except abr..so question:

I'm not great on music theory. I get the idea of staying in a scale, but if the tonic is the most important and most often played note, I'm wondering if all these metalcore songs that use tons of 0s are supposed to be written in

a.) that key
b.) a key that contains that note
c.) doesn't matter

In other words, if im trying to write a song in drop c#, and im using the 0's on the c# string alot, does it have to be in c# major/minor/w/e or can the tonic be any note as long as c# is in that scale?

The reason I'm asking is because I'm wondering where to start the riffs I'm playing over the rhythm part. So far I've just started playing my guitar and making riffs I think sound cool. How can I take this to the next level?
Quote by bloodandempire
Hi, I've been playing guitar for like 6 years but never felt like trying to write something till I went to warped yesterday and realized im considerably better than the guitarists in all the bands i saw except abr..so question:

I'm not great on music theory. I get the idea of staying in a scale, but if the tonic is the most important and most often played note, I'm wondering if all these metalcore songs that use tons of 0s are supposed to be written in

a.) that key
c.) doesn't matter

In other words, if im trying to write a song in drop c#, and im using the 0's on the c# string alot, does it have to be in c# major/minor/w/e or can the tonic be any note as long as c# is in that scale?

The reason I'm asking is because I'm wondering where to start the riffs I'm playing over the rhythm part. So far I've just started playing my guitar and making riffs I think sound cool. How can I take this to the next level?

This, mostly. You can use notes that aren't in that key.