im curious. im a new guitarist (only about a year and half experience) and have been trying to expand my musicianship by learning by ear as often as i can. this usually means i'll read a tab or use guitarpro to learn a song, but when i see somethign is wrong, i'll edit it myself to something i feel fits and sounds better.

my current thought is that is using guitar pro or tabs cheating? i mean with guitar pro it is all there for you. you dont have to do much work beyond just playign the song (at a slower speed than going up to normal or w/e). a tab you have to still listen to the song and figure out the melody and rhythm and what not THEN bring it up to speed.

thoughts?
Do you learn the song where you play it correctly, cleanly, and consistently?

If the answer is yes, then you aren't cheating.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
Yeah, it doesn't matter how you learn songs. But if you use your ears, it also trains your ears. I don't see the point of regular tabs. If I'm going to use tabs, I use Power Tab or Guitar Pro. But most of the time I make my own tabs or just listen to the song and figure it out without the help of tabs.

But if you just want to learn the song, of course it's best to do the easiest way. For me the easiest way is not to read a tab. I'm better at listening to the song and figuring it out by myself. Because many times tabs just have mistakes that I need to correct so I really end up listening to the song. Also IMO rhythms are a lot easier to figure out by listening to the song. You can't really cheat in music.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115