Hello all,

I have a Peavey 6505 head and, admittedly, I bought it when I knew very little about guitar (I still know very little) and had no idea what tubes were.

Roll on 3 years later and I'm curious, how do you tell if tubes have gone bad?

I've read up on the subject and have found some tell tale signs to watch out for and, as far as I can tell, my amp shows none of these. Of course, I'm no expert.

- I've noticed that when you crank it at high gains there's a constant hissing sound, kind of like static?
- When turned on and switched off the tubes will occasionally make clicking sounds (I'm assuming this is them heating up and cooling down).
- Inspecting the tubes shows that the top of them is silver rather than clear.

I have no idea whether these are bad signs or not but hopefully someone could shed some light for me?

I've also included a picture but, alas, this may be about as helpful as posting a picture of a sandwich...

Any help at all would be much appreciated
Quote by Monolith295
Tobysaurus is one sexy man.

Quote by Kensai
I think I love you Tobysaurus!

Quote by CFH82
God damn, you've given me a boner Toby!
Your tubes look fine.

Power tubes will usually let you know they are done when the volume fluctuates or starts to fade. Or, the tube just up and dies.

The first 2 items I am not aware of as signs of age. The last one about the getter (silver top) is true. If it is clear it is borked.

Preamp tubes show different signs, one of which may be hissing.

I'm not an amp tech though so maybe someone else can confirm or elaborate.
Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH at Jul 12, 2013,
toby - we mussed have got our around the same time then. I am going on three years with mine too and just now getting to the point where I need to replace the tubes. The way I know my power tubes need replaced is just as 311 described, the output is just not as ballsy as it once was.