hey guys:
first:I have some musical knowledge.but sometimesI play some of jeff loomis stuff or chris broderick or any metal kind of solo they move from key to key without sounding bad for example jeff loomis's song jato unit great arpeggio part I think somewhere around 2:40 or something ,he plays some c# arpeggio in the key of D Major then a diminshed sweep in the key of D major too, then plays b Major sweep in the key of f# Major, my question what kind of theories did he use to change keys without sounding bad? forget about this example what is the name of that kind of theories that make you change from key to key? so I can read about it more. maybe circle of fifth or fourth or something?
Are you sure he's actually changing keys? Maybe he's just changing chords. If so, then he just plays an arpeggio over the chord he's playing over at that moment.

Also, music isn't divided into different "theories". It's just music theory, and it's cumulative.
"I agree with Matthew about everything" - Everyone
Modulation is the term you're looking for. But like Matt said, he's only changing chords, not keys.
I'm an
Engeneer
Enginear
Enginere

I'm Good at Math
Even if the chords aren't in "key", they may simply be non-diatonic chords. If you don't know what that means, a google search should easily find a few credible sources that tell you what diatonic and non-diatonic chords are.
He is probably just playing non-diatonic chords. However, assuming he's not, the 'closely related key theorem' is typically how people modulate. You find a key that is one accidental away from what you are playing and then you modulate to that key; typically by using a shared chord.
Quote by griffRG7321
Why is it that only guitarists seem to be baffled by non-diatonic music...

Cos we're special
Quote by griffRG7321
Why is it that only guitarists seem to be baffled by non-diatonic music...