I've been playing guitar for a few years, and I really want to improvise. However I don't know how to start...
I can improvise a bit with pentatonics, other people say that it sounds good when i play it, however I know it's random and i don't like it.
So, does anyone have any good tips or links for how to start improvising?
Train your ear so that you can play what you want and not just play random notes. Learn the intervals and their sound. You need to be able to think in sound to improvise well. Because if you don't know how what you play will sound like, it's just random and you might play good things but there's also a possibility that you play things that sound awful.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Train your ear so that you can play what you want and not just play random notes.

Yup. There is a certain art to improvisation that not many master. It is a lot like talking, or giving a soliloquy

EDIT ---> Mostly it is about expression; usually in the communication of an idea.
Practice playing along with backing tracks or songs that you like. There isn't any secret to it really. Phrasing is key to being able to improv well and is a skill you'll develop with time.
learning scales has been a huge help to improving my improvising. pentatonics are a great spot to start, learning it all the way up the fretboard makes a big difference. then learning the major/ minor scales that correspond to the pentatonic scales is a good step. and like others have said, playing with backing tracks is a huge help.