Green_Ghoul
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2010
3,307 IQ
#1
So right now I have an Alesis Quadraverb and a Midiverb II. I use both for different types of reverbs and then the Quadraverb for other things like pan, ring modulator, etc. I don't have any way to control them besides my hands and I was thinking of getting a foot controller so it won't be awkward if I'm ever in a band and on stage and have to push buttons mid-song.

Right now I'm looking at a MIDI Buddy but I'm not sure if it can be connected to two systems at once. Is there such a thing that will allow me to change patches and stuff on each rack without having to get two controllers?

Thanks
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#2
You only need one MIDI line looping around to all your devices. You go from MIDI through of the first unit to the MIDI in of the next one. The only time you have to go to star configuration is when running lots and lots of MIDI gear like some keyboards players do. There is a small propagation delay when going through multiple units in a loop but for your application it won't be noticeable.

There is another cheaper option. You can set up the Quadraverb so that you can advance through a set of patches using a momentary footswitch (like a keyboards sustain pedal) in the advance jack. If you go from MIDI out of the Quadraverb to MIDI in of the Midiverb it will follow the Quaddy as long as they are on the same MIDI channel. Then all you have to do is map the program change table in the Midiverb.
The Quadraverb manual is pretty good, it explains how to go about it.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
Last edited by Cathbard at Jul 15, 2013,
Green_Ghoul
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2010
3,307 IQ
#3
I'll read the quadraverb manual when I can get to a computer...but will the midibuddy be good for my needs? I'll just plug it into the quadraverb and use the MIDI out on that into the midiverb? Then I assign patches to different numbers?

Am I getting that right??
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#4
Correct, Don't forget to turn on "midi through" to make midi out behave as through,
You should be able to map program change data to the appropriate patch too using the program change table. Well, you can on the Quaddy, not sure about the Midiverb. I haven't had a Midiverb for many a year. If not, stick the Midiverb first in the chain.
Alesis manuals are pretty good, you should be able to work it out.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
diabolical
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2005
660 IQ
#5
There are also midi up/down switches that might be cheaper. Tech21 still makes one I believe. Personally, I went to a midi controller, bought a cheap ADA off Ebay and worked like a charm.

It might be easier to simplify as well with a floor unit that would handle two delays and fx if you're open to that.