I'm looking for a new guitar. I'm just starting out, so I don't need a $4,000 Gibson, or something. I currently have a Telecaster, but it doesn't sound right for the type of music I want to play that being, mostly '80s rock, such as Van Halen, Def Leppard, Scorpions, and the like. I have a budget of around $400. I would prefer a tremolo, but it isn't necessary. The amp I currently have is a Fender Frontman. I'm pretty sure it's a 15-watt amp, but not completely certain.
I think that for the music style stated you should get a humbucker equipped guitar. I would go for something like an Epiphone Les paul. If you want more versatility you can also look for a HSS strat.

You should stay away from trems in that price area as these are not good at all and wear down fast. An exeption would be Ibanez S series, these are known to have decent trems but I've never played one of these myself so I can't be sure on that.
Schecter C-1 Custom
Ibanez Iceman ICT700
Ibanez Deluxe 59'er model
Peavey Vypyr 30
Boss SD-2 Dual Overdrive pedal
I would go for a G&L Tribute series guitar. They make some great ones that come with Schaller trem arms and are great for the money. IMO they're much better then Mexi-Fender, Epiphone, or any other '2nd' tier from a major brand name. Check them out.
G&L do have some excellent humbucker-equipped fat strats and telecasters. For '80s rock, I think SGs are great. Epiphone makes high-end SG Customs and the like. Or you could go for a genuine Gibson SG, a Faded or Studio or something. A Les Paul is another good option, but you're not going to find one with a trem. You can get the SG Custom from Epiphone with a trem, but it's a Maestro trem or something weird.

Your best bet is probably a MIJ Ibanez. If you were in my area, I'd totally sell you my Heartfield Talon 1 with dimarzio pickups, it's perfect for '80s hair metal. Heartfield guitars can be had for around 300 bucks.