I'm just starting out, so what would some good practices be to strengthen my hand and get it used to changing position more quickly?
Start with a couple of chords at a time, set a metronome and change between them; like D to G, or C to Am. Once you are in time (say 50bpm), start increasing the time by (relatively) short intervals (say 5-10bpm) and keep repeating until you are comfortable.

Once you have mastered a few (play the chords both strumming, down strokes, up strokes and arpeggios - be sure you can hear all the notes ringing clearly) change them around a bit. For example if you are confident changing G to D, maybe try G to Em. Or add an additional chord (like G - D - Am).

It sounds dull, but repetition will develop your muscle memory and improve your technique.
It's an opinion. It's subjective. And I'm right, anyway.
Quote by maddog61
I'm just starting out, so what would some good practices be to strengthen my hand and get it used to changing position more quickly?

Learning open chords and switching between them. If you're playing electric guitar, learning to bend in tune is a great strengthening exercise.

I wouldn't really worry about doing any regimented exercise besides getting started learning songs you like. Pick a song you like (almost any pop or rock standard can be reduced to open chords and digestible riffs) and start getting it under your belt. Practice won't feel so much like practice if it's something you enjoy playing.
Hey Maddog!

I tend to agree with Slap-happy and Geldin that starting out with learning your open position chords is a good place to start. They're used all over the place, so as soon as you can play them you can start putting songs together.

You could start by just learning the chord shapes themselves. That would be Em, E, Am, A, Dm, D, G, and C chords.

Then try pairing them together, practicing strumming each chord once and switching between them.

Then try strumming each chord 3 or 4 times.