Page 1 of 2
eric_wearing
KillerOfIdiocracy
1,542 IQ
So bear with me, this is a seemingly simple question to anyone who isn't a metalhead, but I'll give you as much help as I can.

I'm a guitarist and my my girl is a singer who's learning bass. We haven't started recording anything yet since she's still learning. Anyway, last night when we were planning out our band plans, she asked "What exactly is the genre we'll be playing?"

My reaction was "durr hurr durr" All I know is that we want an ethereal yet heavy sound. (just read the influences in bold print if this is tl;dr)

Well all we have are the instruments we want...:
Guitar, Bass, Drums, Keys, Violin

...and names of our influences:
Nightwish (keys/drums/guitar/image), Muse (bass/drums), Ben Moody (the basis for all my music, just a tad more complicated), and Gretchen (guitar/bass)

So far, the plan for most of the compositions are having the guitar and keys play the harmony underneath the melody of the violin.
We are still debating the role of the bass as a harmonic element or a rhythmic, though the drums will cover the rhythm with heavy use of the toms.
We'll be making extensive use of the major scale, natural minor scale, the Lydian mode, and Phrygian mode. Gonna try to avoid the pentatonic scales (but we know em)
The vocal style will be more like Gretchen's and attempting to avoid the name "Amy Lee Clone" though my girl takes a few cues from Amy Lee as well.

I'm just tryna figure out our genre or which ballpark we are in so I hope this all has helped you to help me.

~Grey
Theory is just...wow. I'm getting a bit over my head by trying to learn so much w/o formal educators

Quote by DBKGUITAR
To be a good lead guitar you must be VERY GOOD AT RYTHM

Quote by MaggaraMarine
My motto: Play what the song needs you to play!
BladeSlinger
nerd
1,793 IQ
Why are you even bothering trying to categorize your music before you've even played anything?
Quote by cemges
And tell, how come you became idiot enough