Hey all, long time no see!

I've returned here for a little advice. I'm currently a gigging guitarist with a very professional function band. We do a lot of the big gigs and I'm going out with them as entertainment aboard a cruise-liner in August.

At the mo I have a 20th PRS standard 24 going through a DSL401 (with extension cab). Also got a few common pedals (drive, wah, compressor tuner etc.)

I've hit a problem, only I don't know whether I'm going the right way about it. My PRS has been brilliant up to yet. We play every genre of music, from every decade starting at the 50's. It's range of sounds are outstanding and with my rig I can emulate any tone from the songs in the set.

Problem: I'm a lead guitarist and I feel that a thinner neck and lighter guitar would help my playing greatly. (After owning a few low end Ibanez's before forking out for the 24).

So TLR - I love the sounds of my PRS but I want a more 'Agile' guitar, lighter and a faster neck but with the matching build quality and range of tones that I'm used to. A lot of research has pointed me to a Carvin DC127, but reviews are hard to find.

Open to suggestions too, If i go through with a new guitar I'll be using money from the PRS, so I'm looking at £1,000 ($1,500)

Cheers for reading, I do need help with this one!!

Dave

EDIT: The Carvin I'm interested in buying
Last edited by Davester000 at Jul 18, 2013,
What neck carve is your PRS?

You might want to checkout a EBMM JP6

Carvin make a nice guitar, but the resale is horrible just so you know
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly
What neck carve is your PRS?

You might want to checkout a EBMM JP6

Carvin make a nice guitar, but the resale is horrible just so you know

It's a regular neck carve.