Greetings gentlemen,

I want to purchase my first ever all valve amp. After a reading lots of forum postings I decided to go for either Blackstar HT-5 or HT-20 combos. I must tell you that in my country Sri Lanka there is not a single store that sells valve amps so I have no options to experience their tone/Loudness etc.. By the way what I now use is a Marshall MG30CFX solid sate amplifier which is of 30w. Despite of it's poor ss tone quality I don't have any problems with the volume levels but I have no idea as to how it is gonna be with the tubes. Therefore I got to depend 100% on your honest advices before I make a move.

As I've mentioned my playing confined to my bedroom and I don't intend to play outdoor any time sooner. But I might in an year or 2, probably in a small garage band or something. Well nothings more than that for sure .

I know that you'll advice to go for the one with the lower watts given the fact that I mostly play in my bedroom. But something tells me to go for the HT-20.

What I want to know is that if I just crank the master volume down of the HT-20 wouldn't I be able to get the tube tones? Because Im not in a position to shatter the windows off, mainly because I have a very sick grand mother living with me downstairs.

I'd really appreciate all your advices on this matter gentlemen. help me taking a decision cos I'm so helpless in so many ways. Last but not least do you think blackstars are good? If you have some other kinds in mind please feel free to recommend as long as they happen to have a similar price tag. Kindly note that im not privileged enough to go for a better one in the future like scenario, because of the place I'm coming from. So there should not be any mistakes. Please help out people.

Many thanks in advance.
/Bindo