I started out playing guitar, I've been playing for a while and I'm fairly decent. However, I've been playing bass for a couple years now. The only reason I picked up bass is because my friends needed a bassist for their band and I wasn't as good of a guitarist as the other two guitarists in the band so they asked me to play bass. I went out and bought a bass and started playing with them and realized that I really liked it. We were a fairly successful band and we did very well locally. While I wasn't a good bassist (I played with a pick and I played mostly root notes until later on) I was tight and for the style of music my band was playing it worked. That band ended a while ago but right now I still have Peavey Grind BXP and a Acoustic half stack.

Recently after abandoning bass and just playing guitar for past two years I picked up my bass again. I realized I'm more comfortable on bass than guitar. It's a more natural instrument for me. The thing is, I still think and play bass like I'm playing guitar.

I've decided that the best route for me would be to focus on playing bass and actually learn how to play the instrument the right way. I have nicer bass gear than guitar gear and I've already had a lot of experience playing bass in a bands. The only problem is I don't really know where to start. I've tried some beginner lessons, but I breeze through them without really learning much. I know I need to learn how to fingerpick and I'm slowly getting better at that, but what else should I focus on as a converted guitarist?

Thanks guys
I'm the same as I was when I was six years old
And oh my god I feel so damn old
I don't really feel anything
Last edited by StreetLight3989 at Jul 19, 2013,
Well; if you are looking for instructional material that will focus on specific techniques, skills, etc., in order to make yourself a better bassist, then the best place to start is BassBooks:

http://www.bassbooks.com/shopping/default.asp