Not sure if this is in the right section...

I've had a good thought lately. I'm a bedroom player and I've been playing and learning for almost three years now. For three years I've been learning some theory, practicing technique and learning how to play songs. I learn one, play it for a while, then move on to the next song, learn it, play it, etc... Sometimes I dedicate a day in a week just to play songs I've learned and I'll mix in some improv over backing tracks (althought I don't do this very often as I'm awful at improv and I always go for the cliche licks and riffs).

Then it hit me, I have nothing to show for all this practice. To put it metaphorically I've got tools but I've never used them! I've never attempted to write music. So I want to start writing music for my own songs but I don't know where to start in terms of genre as I like a lot of different things. For example, if I revisit a genre I haven't listened to in some time like a band like The Stone Roses and I'll think "I really like this, this is a breath of fresh air, I think I want to play this style of guitar". But then I'll begin to listen to something else such as Deftones and I'll think the same thing! Obviously there was the time when I first started playing and I enjoyed listening to bands like Megadeth then I quickly realised that it wasn't much fun playing those songs.

Anyway to sum up the wall of text, as a fan of many different genres of music, how long did it take you to think "Yes, this is the style I'm going to go for, this is the path of playing I'm going to take" and how did you make that decision?
Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Godin Velocity
Peavey Vypyr 15 Watt
AMT WH1 Japanese Girl Wah
Marshall BB-2 Boost/OD
Joyo JF-07 Classic Flanger
Joyo JF-37 Analog Chorus
hmmm. tough question. I would say in some ways I STILL haven't found my sound after 7 years of playing.