Hello there,

I recently started playing the guitar, and although I try to practice as much as I can (hurrah for summer break), I've found that I can only practice for a minute or five before the fingers on my left hand get too painful to continue. Right now, I spend most of my practice time on getting the G and D major chords right, which still takes some effort (I've only been practicing for a few days, though). There's also a few other chords I've been told are useful that I'm practicing now (A minor 7th and C major).

My question is: what else is best for a beginner to practice during my practice sessions? An idea I had is to simply practice a few chords, take a half hour break to let my fingers cool off, wash, rinse, repeat throughout the day. However, there's probably other things besides making chords an absolute beginner can work on. Any tips or suggestions?
Depends on the way you want to go. I mean, if it's your desire to strum chords and fingerpicking, then I don't really see a point in practicing your picking technique.. If you catch my drift
baab
Hey man.

Learn your chords and what notes compose them.

For instance, a major chord is 1st (root), major third, fifth. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Major_chord

Then, if you wanted a minor chord, you would flatten the third (minor third). Or, if you wanted a 7th, you drop one (or more, in some cases) of the 1sts a whole step down.

This basic understanding of chords will allow you to learn songs quickly, as you don't have to look up each and every chord individually. I've found that barre chords are actually the easiest to learn since you take a position (typically E or A) and just slide it up and down the neck.

I would also add that barred chords are valuable for building hand strength. A lot of artists like Jack Johnson play predominantly barred chords, so they're good to emulate if you want to replicate their sound.

So, yeah, in summary:
-learn what notes compose "simple" chords (major, minor, 7th).