Allow me to introduce myself. You may call me by my username or my real name, Ian. I'm 22 and have played guitar for 10 years.

The current problem I am facing is that through financial troubles a few years ago, my
rig shrunk down to next to nothing. I'm currently in the midst of fixing that. I just bought myself a solidstate Fender Princeton Chorus and am working on getting a decent guitar again. (I have my eye on a Jazzmaster, in particular).

Currently, all I have is my very first guitar, a Johnson stratocaster copy. I have an intense love-hate relationship with this instrument. It sounds decent, but the feel of the neck and fretboard are absolutely dreadful.

Ah, but to the point now. I am in a situation where I am nowhere near a sizeable guitar shop and will not be able to get to one in the forseeable future. I'm trying to select a good tube amp to save for. I know the drill, that I should be trying them out myself. It really doesn't seem feasible to me, however, so I've been listening to sound clips and trying to research as much as I can. I would appreciate if someone could give me some clues as to the right direction in which to look.

Budget: $900. I can go a little higher if need be.

Preferred Sounds: Some of my favorite guitarists' tones include Jay Mascis (both his jangly clean sounds and the fuzzy wall of noise), John Frusciante, Cream-era Clapton, Hetfield's rhythm tone a la Kill Em All, among others.

Other preferences: I'm looking for a combo. Honestly I'm just remaining open to suggestions. Maybe I'll be steered in a direction I didn't expect.
In your price range, you should be able to find a good tube combo amp from Fender, Carvin, Vox or Peavey that should make you happy.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!