I play guitar, mandolin and piano, though I am mediocre at all of them (my first choice is guitar). I love music, and I am giving thought to becoming a music teacher maybe. How well should I know my instrument to get into college?

I am willing to work hard to get to a higher level, but I am self-taught and only have 2 more years of high school. am I being unrealistic?
What Uni? What course?
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes
and all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if it's what she says you ought to do
Get a teacher, practice efficiently and diligently.
I think you need to be at a very high level to get to Berkley. It is all down to the university, because some places are more focused on classical and jazz, so if you aren't particularly good at either style, you won't have much of a chance, but other places are open to more contemporary players, or intermediate players. Also, it depends on your grades at high school.
WHOMP

Think of that next time you are not allowed to laugh.
the trick is to get lessons with someone who teaches guitar at your university. you will know about all the tricks to get in and how to prepare for the auditions. even a music student who studies at the uni you want in will greatly help you
2 years is more than enough to prepare for your auditions if you start taking it seriously right now

you have to decide what exactly you want to study because most colleges teach only jazz and classical guitar and don't have a pop/rock program
Last edited by SuperKid at Jul 21, 2013,
You want to be a music major? Just buy a pretentious hat, vote Democrat, wear flip-flops, forget to shave, and hang out with ugly people.
Quote by Rossenrot
Just buy a pretentious hat, vote Democrat, wear flip-flops, forget to shave, and hang out with ugly people.

I've dabbled with all of those but unfortunately it didn't earn me a degree nor an insight into the music business.
Quote by Rossenrot