I recieved by trade a 1993 Jackson JTX.

It's MIJ, has an ash body and a maple 1-piece neck that is a lot thinner than a normal Jackson neck, and a maple fretboard. It has a JT580 trem, Bartolini pups (H/S), a 3 way pup selector, volume knob and coil splitting switch.

Is it normal for a JT580 to be terrible at keeping tune, or a setup problem? I don't think the locking nuts are aligned properly, it doesn't have a string retainer, and the 3rd locking nut screw won't screw tight. If I fix all that, will it still not keep tune? (I'm new to trems).

Serial number on a sticker at the back: J 000534

Apart from the trem suckiness, it's an all-round great-playing guitar. The Bartolinis sound great and versatile, the neck is very shreddy and that maple neck has a nice snappiness to it (or is that the ash? I'm also new to that wood). And don't get me started on that trans purple finish

That dice sticker is sticky so you can stick your picks to it. I'm probably gonna replace it with a bat or a babe or something once I figure out where to buy them from.
Tomorrow will take us away
Far from home
No one will ever know our names
But the bards' songs will remain
Tomorrow will take it away
The fear of today
It will be gone
Due to our magic songs

ALL HAIL CELESTIA
Last edited by jjfeu662 at Jul 21, 2013,
Couldnt tell you about Bartolini.
First, check the locking nut. Rotate them if they're gouged or anything like that. Next check the floyd itself. Check the locks to make sure they're tight so the string isn't slipping out. If they're new strings on that guitar, you're just going to have to deal with that one.

Great looking axe though.
╘MESHUG╦G╗AH

Ibanez ARX 350
Dunlop 535Q
Ibanez TS9
Peavey TransTube Supreme
DRIVE Elite straight 412
Bartolini makes really nice bass pickups. I didn't know they made guitar pickups as well.

As for your trem problems, that's indicative of a shitty LFR. Did you set it up yourself when you got it? Have you put new strings on it?