When I bought my guitar 5 years ago. It came with a pick, and this is what I used to learn to strum. However for the past 3 years I have been away, and I could not travel with my guitar.

A friend of mine in university has a guitar though, so I started playing again, without my pick. At first I found it difficult, but eventually I developed a habit of strumming down strokes lightly against the fingernails of my first 3 fingers, and upstrokes against the fingernail of my thumb. My hand is very relaxed when I strum this way, and it allows me great speed of strumming, without feeling cramps.

This has become so natural to me. I have become completely disaccustomed of using a pick that right now whenever I try to strum with a pick I end up dropping it.

What do you think ?
I have a similar technique when strumming fingerstyle. The only difference is I use the thumb for down strokes and fingers for the up stroke. I don't see any real problem with your technique, as long as you're getting what you want out of it. Difficulty re-acclimatising to the pick (if that's what you want to do) will be overcome with some hard practice. If it works for you then I'd say carry on, unusual technique will make for a less usual sound. Which is always a good thing
As long as playing without one doesn't effect your ability to learn songs and techniques then it doesn't matter but it's best to be able to use both
"Music Without Emotion Is Like Food Without Flavour"
Paul Gilbert
I normally use a pick, for that bluegrassy "boom-chicka-boom" strumming...
But I have a sort of hybrid finger-strum I use occasionally which works pretty much like banjo "frailing".
Downstrokes with the backs of fingers, thumb on the bass notes, and occasional single-notes with the index on the upstroke.
sounds similar what Lindsey Buckingham does.
Someone is wrong on the internet. Only you can help.

Originally Posted by Tulkas