Okay so I'll start by mentioning that I have no previous experience with effects boards or pedals or anything like that, so the simpler the explanation the better

Tomorrow I'm going to go pick up a new cab and a guitar. At the moment I have an Orange Dark Terror head, and I plan on getting a 2x12 Orange cab to run it through.
I've only recently gotten the Dark Terror, and It's my first tube amp.

Now, I decided I may as well get an effects unit while I'm at it. I'll be paying this stuff off, so if I want to get one I'll have to get one with my guitar and amp.

I've narrowed it down to a Line 6 Pod 400 or a Boss ME70. The only thing I really plan on doing with it is just playing around with the effects for a bit of fun. I was going to get a pedal or two, but I decided if I was going to do that I may aswell just get a unit for the same price.

My questions are, if I was to get one of these, would I run it straight in to the amp or would I run it in to the effects loop? Also, would it be a waste of time to buy one of these if I have a tube amp? I really have no idea what either of them are capable of or what exactly they are for, I'm pretty much a beginner when it comes to this stuff and all I want to do is have a bunch of effects to play around with as my amp doesn't have anything like that.

Any help is appreciated!
The boss ME70 only have an in and out, so it would either be straight into the fx loop or infront. I would say that if you ran it through the loop, stuff like the wah wah sounds utterly poo. I believe that if you were to go for a better model of the boss stuff like the gt10? you can run it on a 4 wire system so you have can use all the delay/chorusy stuff through the loop and other stuff up front. I'm not sure about the POD 400, I'm sure other people will have more to say on this.