Hi guys,
I've loved the elec guitar all my life, well the sound of it
But I am just starting out, & I'm looking for what's
A good starting e/guitar to learn a few cobain riffs
I'm not trying to be like him but I love the tunes
& would love to be able to play a few as I heard its good to start with
I'm not looking to spend much but I don't know what to look for
Is Monterey guitars able to pull off the sound

I know it don't matter what you start with but I at least want something that can pull it off
I'd look towards a Squire Strat or maybe a Fender Strat. Something along those lines.
Look for a squire Stratocaster with a bridge humbucker .

You will also need an amp. The Fender Mustang, Vox VT, Roland Cube and Peavey Vypyr amps are worth looking into. They have lots of different sounds, FX and they have built in guitar tuners
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Is it better getting a old fender/squier strat
Or should I start out with that newish USB squier fender strat
As long as I get a decent amp with it, don't want to use it with headphones
Specifically, a used Mexican Fender Strat, or a Squier Classic Vibe are the two you want to be looking at.

The amps listed are all fine for beginners.

Depending on where you live that setup could be got for around £400 or $500 (so I gather).
Sweet thanks guys, now at least I'm a bit more informed
What 2 look out for when I go for a few drives to some places this week
If you're buying used and have seen an advert online post the link and some pictures so we can make sure it's not a fake.
Yamaha Pacifica. I buy one for me the 331h model. Look for the 112v and 120h.
Many players start with this guitars and keep them for a gigs. pacifica is decent, sound great.
Quote by Soundcaster
Yamaha Pacifica. I buy one for me the 331h model. Look for the 112v and 120h.