i am a beginner trying to get in grips with theories.... i like the
I-IV-V progression...so when i play the c major,f major and g major progression can i play
1- c major seventh-f major diminished-g major progression????
2-c major DIMINISHED -f sixth-g augmented progression??????

i mean,there are like 27 variations of the c chord[ HALF of them are variations of C MAJOR].....when i play in c major or f major ...can i use any of those MAJOR VARIATIONS??????
Last edited by somboral at Jul 31, 2013,
to be strictly harmonic in a diatonic sense, you can use any variation of I IV and V that use notes that are in the major scale of the key of your choice. There are other ways to deal with it but they are too complex for an online response, or simply come down to "if you like the sound, do it"
Just experiment, there are no rules. But most of the time if you start adding some random notes, they may sound out of place.

And what is F major diminished? What notes does it have, I've never heard of such thing?

So yeah, you can play whatever you want but it may not sound good.

And I wouldn't call them "variations" of C major chord. They are a C major chord with added notes (for example C7 = C major chord with a minor seventh). And not half of them are major and half are minor. Some of them are diminished or augmented.

But of course try those progressions, maybe you like the sound of them.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
thanks for ur suggestion....i checked it out....it can either be f diminished or f major ..it cant be both....
thanks MaggaraMarine and Bad Kharmel
Yeah, I would also suggest learning about chord construction and intervals. It's good to understand how to build major/minor/diminished/augmented chords and what the add notes mean.